Sunday, 6 March 2016

Asia Cup Winners List

Asia Cup cricket tournament was established in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council was founded as a measure to promote goodwill between Asian countries. It was originally scheduled to be held every two years.
  • The first Asia cup was held in 1984 in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates.
  • India boycotted the 1986 tournament due to strained cricketing relations with Sri Lanka.
  • Pakistan boycotted the 1990-91 tournament due to strained political relations with India.
  • The 1993 tournament was cancelled due to strained political relations between India and Pakistan.
India is the current(2016) champion and India won the title six times.
Sri Lanka is the previous(2014) winners.

Shikhar Dhawan India - Man of the match for his 60 runs (2016)
Sabbir Rahman Bangladesh - Player of the series (2016)

Next Asia Cup cricket tournament 2018 (50-overs format) in India
List of Asia Cup current and previous winners

No comments:

Post a Comment